Day 30: More Tribal Headwear

Not to my great surprise, I was presented with yet another tribal headpiece by the tribe’s eldest native, Tuesday.  Although much smaller and perhaps a fitted headdress, this little headpiece appears to belong to she who gave it.  The headdress is pink with a white letter applied to the front of the hat.  It also appears that the headdress has some significance, due to the symbol blazoned on its front, perhaps signifying a certain tribe or group of natives.  I will search to find its significance to ensure that it is not an emblem of questionable ethics and morals.

Again, not to my great surprise, Tuesday implored me most earnestly to wear the headpiece, although it was indeed much too small for my large cranium.  Upon removal of the headdress, Tuesday returned it to my head, more forcibly to ensure that it was to remain where she had established it.  Once again, the headpiece came off and once again, she returned it to its previous location.

I can only surmise that headwear is of great importance in the tribe’s customs and traditions.  I have not yet discovered the significance of the many headpieces that the tribe owns, however, I can postulate that the wearing of a headdress increases the wearer’s authority and stature within the tribe’s social system.  Below is the headpiece that was bestowed upon me.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lois Taylor on June 29, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    omg the awesomeness that is this picture lmfao

    Reply

  2. And, you’re welcome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

