Day 220: Wednesday Contracts Yet Another Ear Infection

Yesterday, Wednesday began exhibiting the familiar signs of yet another ear infection.  The obvious symptoms of this distress consist of overall crabbiness, tugging or pulling on a particular ear and the inability to lay the native flat, as for a rest period.  Upon noting these symptoms, I promptly contacted the office of the local medicine man who in turn invited me to bring the now disagreeable native in for an examination.

I can surmise that Wednesday does not appreciate the value of being examined by the local medicine man.  Although his intentions in curing her affliction are good, she is apparently unable to understand that.  Her overall disposition while we were at the tribal abode was disagreeable, though her appetite did not appear to suffer due to her ear affliction.  I attempted to keep the young native comfortable, however, this was no small task.  I found that placing her in the circular exercise apparatus kept her upright, which alleviated the pain from laying the native down for rest.  She appeared to be particularly comfortable and, by starting a program on the electronic media box, she appeared content for the time being.

The tribal leader had remained home from her daily occupation due to suspicions that she too was afflicted with some malicious virus.  She made arrangements to see her medicine man and had Tuesday accompany her to alleviate the stress and difficulty that Tuesday provides whilst caring for Wednesday.  Soon, it came time for Wednesday and I to depart, so I began to gather the necessary provisions for the trip.  Gathering the appropriate containers of liquid sustenance and the satchel which contained more disposable undergarments and other useful items to care for natives, I then turned off the electronic media box and attempted to prepare Wednesday for the trip.

I brought Wednesday over to the reclining tribal furniture on which I changed her disposable undergarment.  I then proceeded to clothe her with a heavy coat, a procedure that she shows great opposition to.  However, this did not deter my primary objective.  I was able to clothe the native without much difficulty or opposition, a strange occurrence indeed.  I laid her on the reclining tribal furniture to allow myself a moment to grab my overcoat, however, as I did, Wednesday made a lunge for the box of disposable wipes that was not far away from her.  Now, to do so, she had to A. roll off her back and onto her stomach and B. lunge across the tribal furniture cushions to reach the box of disposable wipes.  Catching her in the act of escaping, I returned her to her back and as far back from the edge of the reclining furniture as possible.  I then quickly proceeded with my original intentions.

The episode that occurred next lasted for all of two seconds.  As I left the scene of Wednesday on the reclining tribal furniture and reached for my overcoat, which was a mere five to ten feet away, Wednesday rolled off the furniture.  The whole event happened seemingly in slow motion: grabbing my coat and coming back to the furniture and observing Wednesday roll to the edge of the furniture and drop to the floor.  Inevitably, Wednesday was terribly upset over falling off the reclining tribal furniture.  I quickly scooped her up and held her upright to investigate her condition.  She appeared to be uninjured, however, in addition to her ear affliction, greatly startled.  I proceeded to get my overcoat on which is when I noticed the key to the tribe’s mode of transportation was in the lining of the sleeve of my overcoat.

There is apparently a hole in the left breast pocket of the overcoat, where the key had been.  Since the last opportunity for me to where said coat, the key must have migrated through the hole and navigated its way down to the end of the right sleeve.  After exclaiming a number of colorful expletives, I resolved to cut the lining to obtain the key that I so desperately needed.  Now, Wednesday was still quite distraught at this point and quite unhappy with me.  After obtaining the key, I gathered up the native, the necessary provisions and departed the tribal abode.

Fastening Wednesday into the tribe’s mode of transportation, we continued to the office of the medicine man who was waiting our arrival.  After conducting a number of routine tests on the native and examining her ears closely, the medicine man did determine that the cause of her affliction was, indeed, another ear infection.  The medicine man and I discussed the frequency of Wednesday’s ear troubles and agreed that perhaps an examination by a medicine man that specializes in ear afflictions should be considered.  The medicine man then contacted the apothecary with the prescription for the antidote for Wednesday and we departed for the tribal abode again.

Upon arriving at the tribal abode, Wednesday had finally given in to the slumber which had overcome her.  Bringing her in quickly and quietly, I placed her down in her resting quarters.  The tribal leader and Tuesday were back at the abode as well, though without medication for the tribal leader.  After a bit of time, I departed the tribal abode again, this time to obtain the necessary antidotes from the apothecary.  The time was now one and a half hours after leaving the medicine man’s office.  Much to my dismay, the local apothecary did not have Wednesday’s antidote ready.  Apparently, one and a half hours is not ample time for the preparation of this medication.  After returning to the tribal abode, Wednesday awakening, and a call to the apothecary, I returned to the apothecary, this time obtaining the antidotes for the afflicted native and tribal leader.

Many lessons can be learned from this episode.  First, when Wednesday begins exhibiting signs of distress, particularly when laying down, she will inevitably contract an ear infection and to call the medicine man straight away.  Second, Wednesday rolls.  She can no longer be left to her own devices on any furniture, for any length of time.  Third, the local apothecary apparently needs verbal persuasion to expedite orders sent in by the medicine man.  And, lastly, and perhaps most importantly, do not place the key to the tribe’s mode of transportation in the left breast pocket of your overcoat.  It will inevitably get stuck.

Leave a Reply

