Day 264: I Continue to Battle the Plague & Tuesday Demonstrates Egg-strordinary Behavior

It has been nearly a week since my last entry and I continue battle the plague which has run rampant through the tribal abode.  My voice is near non-existent and I continue struggle with breathing due to the abundance of mucus in my nasal cavity.  Will this sickness ever pass?  It has been only a week since the plague first overtook me, however it feels like an eternity.  To add insult to injury, Tuesday continues to exhibit exemplary health and no sign of sickness.  Her rambunctious and contrary ways have caused me to labor harder to keep up with her antics, or preferably stay two steps ahead.  Nonetheless, the episode I shall now described occurred on Friday last, in the afternoon, just before the tribal leader’s return.

The afternoon was quite peaceful, much to my great fortune.  Tuesday had fallen asleep on the reclining tribal furniture and Wednesday had retired for a rest period in her resting quarters herself.  Past experiences have informed me that if Tuesday experiences a rest period longer than say, an hour and a half, the rambunctious native will remain awake, often into the late hours of the evening before twilight.  Noting the time which was now at the one hour mark, I determined that I would begin the waking process.  Tuesday was not agreeable to this in the slightest.  I attempted numerous methods of waking including but not limited to tickling, offering treats, turning lights on, repeatedly calling her name and speaking loudly and other particularly loud activities.  For the next hour, I continued to try to wake the young native who was deliberately attempting to sleep through my efforts to arouse her.  Soon however, and about an hour and a half before the tribal leader’s return, she arose, disoriented and looking for mischief.

Now, by this point, Wednesday had arisen and was sitting upright on the floor of the tribal living area, playing reasonably quietly with the playthings that were scattered about the room.  Most of the objects within Wednesday’s wheelhouse were small plastic animals that went with the biblical ark toy and were taste-tested, perhaps to determine whether lion tastes like bear or hippo tastes like elephant.  She required little hands-on observation and I felt comfortable with her whereabouts and activity.

Whilst tending to Wednesday who had recently fallen over and backed herself into a corner on her stomach, Tuesday had disappeared into the food preparation area.  After uprighting Wednesday and giving her more toys to taste-test and amuse herself with, I decided to investigate Tuesday’s whereabouts and activities.  That’s when I found Tuesday with the mechanical cooling apparatus door open, an egg in hand.

My first reaction to this was immediately to halt the actions of the young native and disarm her of the egg which was in her right hand.  I spoke sharply, startling the young native who attempted to forcefully place the egg on the communal eating surface.  I spoke again, this time less sharply, thereby hoping to not cause the native to break the egg and cause a bigger disaster.  All of this dialogue was occurring in slow motion: I moving toward the native’s location, she attempting to flee the scene of the crime.  The one thing I did not see in my haste to get to the young native was the feline that was laying on the floor of the food preparation area, smack dab in my path.

The funny thing about feline wildlife: they will inevitably be in the place that you least need them to be when you least need them to be there.  This feline, the eldest of the feline wildlife that inhabit the tribal abode, and shall be known as Sheva (her tribal name is much longer) has an affinity for laying in places that she can hardly be seen and easily be stepped on, which is what I did.  The other funny thing about felines:  they will let you know when you have stepped on them, in fact, rather loudly.  Sheva let out a loud screech, informing me that I had stepped on her.  I quickly recanted and she fled the area.  I felt sorry for the feline, I hadn’t noticed her location in my haste to reprimand Tuesday.  Sheva fleeing the area, I continued my former intent unhanding Tuesday of the still-whole egg she was still grasping.

I breathed a sigh of relief upon placing the egg back into the mechanical cooling apparatus and continued my reprimand of the young native who had, whilst returning the egg to its rightful place, escaped to the tribal living area.  The impressive thing to note here is that the location of the egg in the mechanical cooling apparatus is three shelves high, which is approximately six inches taller than Tuesday.  The door of the mechanical cooling device requires a reasonable amount of force to open, force that the young native appears to possess.   Tuesday recent antics are both impressive and scary and will require much closer supervision going forth.  As for Sheva, well, it was not the first time that the feline has been stepped on and given her propensity for occupying inconvenient footpath areas, it will most likely not be her last.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cheryl on February 21, 2012 at 10:58 am

    For several years my fridge sported a rather large rope holding it closed to prevent such things from happening. LOL

    Reply

  2. That’s what it’s starting to look like with us too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

