Day 478: The Natives Turn to Vandalism

Since my entries have become fewer and further between, I have decided to abandon recording the activities of the natives regularly.  Alas, it was a good run while it lasted but it appears that I am no longer able to keep up with my daily workload and blogging duties.  So, as time permits, I will record the very best, if not the worst, of the activities of the natives.  A big thank you goes to all of my faithful readers who enjoy a little glimpse into my chaotic day-to-day trials and tribulations.  I have recorded nearly 145 posts and have received over 3,800 views in just over a year.  I hope you’ve enjoyed the tribe’s activities – for the most part, I’ve enjoyed writing about them.  Some days, it’s been like therapy to calm down after finding something destroyed in the tribal living area or a crayon, half eaten by Wednesday.  So, I’ll write when I can, I’m absolutely not at a loss for writing material.  Now, on with today’s crime…

The natives have been rather unruly of late and do not respond favorably to advisement.  However, I do afford them ample opportunities to “play” – mind you, play often consists of mortal combat in the tribal living area, destruction and forbidden activities – in the tribal living area, unsupervised, or at least, not under direct supervision.  On occasion, during a perfect storm, Tuesday and Wednesday join forces to create one hell of a mess.  On occasion.  On other occasions and most of the time, the natives operate separately, with separate agendas and objectives.

Today’s violation includes Tuesday and the electronic media box.  Lately, and far too often I might add, the natives have been reprimanded and scolded for being too close to the electronic media box.  Like every fucking day.  Multiple times.  Both natives. I’m reprimanding them as I am writing this.  And now, the electronic media box is off – because one of the natives turned it off.

In front of the power button on the electronic media box is a clear plastic guard that slides underneath the front edge of the media box – to prevent natives from turning off the box prematurely.  Apparently not doing its job. Apparently.  I’m assuming that Tuesday was hanging off this plastic guard with all of her weight because from the food preparation area, I heard a loud SNAP.  You can probably guess what happened next.

My inquiry from the food preparation area went something like this: “WHAT WAS THAT?!  WHAT BROKE?!”

Tuesday’s reply was simple and, unfortunately, completely wrong. “Nuffing…”

Nuffing.  Right.  I’m sure that loud snap was nuffing at all.  Bullshit.  As it turns out, she did snap the guard into two pieces, shown below.

I must say that I was not pleased when I found these two pieces.  Like really pissed.  This can be added to a myriad of toys, objects and things that the natives have destroyed recently.  Yes, indeed, the natives have turned to vandalism.

So, I guess now, that I need to find some method of guarding the electronic media box from mischievous little natives who would otherwise try to mess with its controls.  Perhaps tying them down is an option….

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lois Taylor on October 1, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Well, as a matter of fact I would definitely recommend tying them down … & shooting nerf arrows makes the adult feel 100% better haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

